Exporting data for use in other tools?

PMMulligan

Hi all,

I have looked through the docs and forums, but I can not find anything in particulare about exporting data for use in other tools, or importing data from other tools.

For example, I may want to export/import all my application data to a CMDB, and they often support a CSV (or text, or XML, etc.) file format.

I am new to Protege, I understand OWL in concept, but have no working knowledge of it.
sarah.smith

Hi,

Sorry for the delay in replying, we have been hampered by the holiday season!

We have an Integration Tool, currently in beta testing, which is designed to allow importing or synchronisation of information between Essential and other tools. In fact, we have used this tool to synchronise information with a CMDB in the past. You can find the download and documentation information here - http://www.enterprise-architecture.org/ ... einfo&id=2

We do not have an explicit tool for exporting data, however, the Essential Modeller publishes your repository data as a standard xml file to the Java Servlet Engine supporting the Essential Viewer (e.g. Tomcat).

The file is named 'ReportXML.xml' and in a typical Tomcat installation is found at the path, {Tomcat-Install}/webapps/essential_viewer.

Each time you publish your repository to the Essential Viewer from Protege this file is updated, therefore, you can take a copy of this file, apply any appropriate trasnformation (e.g. using XSL) and then import the information to the target repository of your choice.

In future, we will be looking to add the ability to explicitly export this file from the Essential Integration Server.

Please let us know if you need any further information.

Sarah
jonathan.carter