Updating essential viewer problems

tfox

Hi,

I am new to Essential OS and trying to get to an instance up and running so that I can use the launchpad import utility. I have gotten an instance working at ver 6.2, and applied meta model updates in protege up to 6.5, then to 6.7. But when I drop the ver 6.7 essential_viewer.war file in the webapps directory it does not work (going to http://localhost:8080/essential_viewer/ gives a 404 error).

I also tried to follow the instructions in the launchpad v4 "step by step" where you download the essential_viewer files from git, and copy them over the essential_viewer folder in webapps, but this also breaks the viewer. Looking at the Catalina log, there are a bunch of Java errors whenever I attempt the updated WAR file.

When I drop the old viewer v6.2 war file back in, I get a the working, empty, essential viewer again with a non-functioning launchpad plus link. Can someone give me some tips on this, or is there is working war file I can get?

Thanks,
Tim Fox
neil.walsh

Hi Tim,

The application name used in the browser (e.g. essential_viewer in http://localhost:8080/essential_viewer) is based on the name of the WAR file itself.

If you download the latest 6.7 WAR file from our site on this page https://www.enterprise-architecture.org/os_download.php you will see the file is called essential_viewer_67.war

If you drop this WAR with the that name into Tomcat, the resulting URL would be http://localhost:8080/essential_viewer_67

Here's a direct link to the 6.7 WAR file
https://essential-cdn.s3.eu-west-2.amaz ... wer_67.war

If you have downloaded the ZIP source from Github as mentioned in the Launchpad, you must unzip the contents and copy the resulting folder to Tomcat. Simply renaming the zip here does not create a valid WAR file.

We use a different WAR file name for each release to allow users to run and test new releases concurrently with the previous ones. You can simply rename the WAR and/or folder once you're happy.