Error installing in Centos

Post Reply
al_indc
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 May 2016, 15:23

I'm attempting to install this in a Docker image, Running CENTOS. I have everything installed including Tomcat/Protege/Graphviz but having issues installing Essentials. When I run java -jar essentialinstall506.jar, I get all the questions from the install but it's failing. Below is the output. Any ideas?

I have set the PROTEGE_HOME variable to be /root/Protege_3.5.

[ Starting to unpack ]
[ Processing package: Update Scripts (1/8) ]
Calling ANT with buildfile: /usr/local/essentials/install/updateProtegeProps.xml
[ Unpacking finished ]
[ ERROR: The following error occurred while executing this line:
/usr/local/essentials/install/updateProtegeProps.xml:43: Warning: Could not find file /${PROTEGE_HOME}/protege.properties to copy. ]
com.izforge.izpack.installer.InstallerException: The following error occurred while executing this line:
/usr/local/essentials/install/updateProtegeProps.xml:43: Warning: Could not find file /${PROTEGE_HOME}/protege.properties to copy.
at com.izforge.izpack.event.AntActionInstallerListener.performAllActions(Unknown Source)
at com.izforge.izpack.event.AntActionInstallerListener.afterPack(Unknown Source)
at com.izforge.izpack.installer.UnpackerBase.informListeners(Unknown Source)
at com.izforge.izpack.installer.Unpacker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)
Caused by: The following error occurred while executing this line:
/usr/local/essentials/install/updateProtegeProps.xml:43: Warning: Could not find file /${PROTEGE_HOME}/protege.properties to copy.
at org.apache.tools.ant.ProjectHelper.addLocationToBuildException(ProjectHelper.java:551)
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.Ant.execute(Ant.java:444)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:606)
at org.apache.tools.ant.dispatch.DispatchUtils.execute(DispatchUtils.java:106)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Task.perform(Task.java:348)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.execute(Target.java:390)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.performTasks(Target.java:411)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeSortedTargets(Project.java:1399)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTarget(Project.java:1368)
at com.izforge.izpack.event.AntAction.performAction(Unknown Source)
at com.izforge.izpack.event.AntAction.performInstallAction(Unknown Source)
... 5 more
Caused by: /usr/local/essentials/install/updateProtegeProps.xml:43: Warning: Could not find file /${PROTEGE_HOME}/protege.properties to copy.
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.Copy.copySingleFile(Copy.java:619)
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.Copy.execute(Copy.java:444)
at org.apache.tools.ant.UnknownElement.execute(UnknownElement.java:291)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:606)
at org.apache.tools.ant.dispatch.DispatchUtils.execute(DispatchUtils.java:106)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Task.perform(Task.java:348)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.execute(Target.java:390)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.performTasks(Target.java:411)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeSortedTargets(Project.java:1399)
at org.apache.tools.ant.helper.SingleCheckExecutor.executeTargets(SingleCheckExecutor.java:38)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTargets(Project.java:1251)
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.Ant.execute(Ant.java:442)
... 17 more
User avatar
jonathan.carter
Posts: 1087
Joined: 04 Feb 2009, 15:44

Thanks for your post.

Let's start with something really simple on this.
Could you try again but with $PROTEGE_HOME set to:

Code: Select all

export PROTEGE_HOME=root/Protege_3.5
What I'm suggesting is to drop the leading '/' on this PROTEGE_HOME setting as it looks like the installer is adding its own '/' to the start. You may want / need to set this back to

Code: Select all

export PROTEGE_HOME=/root/Protege_3.5
once the installer has completed.

Jonathan
Essential Project Team
al_indc
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 May 2016, 15:23

Hi Jonathon,
Yes, I tried that. We tried everything we could think of. Bottom line, we could not get the text based installer to work.

For those curious, we did get protege and the essentials project installed in a docker container. It all works just fine.

We had to pipe the display from the docker container to the windows machine though so we could install protege with the GUI. Took some doing but we got it working.
User avatar
jonathan.carter
Posts: 1087
Joined: 04 Feb 2009, 15:44

Thanks very much for letting us know how you got on.

Really interesting to hear that you've got this in a Docker.
Was it Centos where the installer would not run properly or was it something to do with the Docker approach?

We have had users install via the command line and if you any pointers / error messages around the issues, it would be really useful so that we can make that installer work better.

Do let us know if you get stuck on this sort of thing as we can always provide the components in a less packaged-up form such that they can be installed without the installer program. None of the components require any "registry" type capabilities and once you've unpacked them, can be deployed manually.

Jonathan
Essential Project Team
Post Reply