Essential AM for Application Portfolio Management

gantyala

Hello,

First, I would like to thank for your effort in creating the excellent EA open source tool.

I am new to this tool. Today, I downloaded EAM to evaluate for the purpose of establishing the baseline enterprise application portfolio. Currently, the application information (NOT relationship)sits in the form excel spreadsheet. This is not efficient for the complex environment. That is why I am in process of evaluating the Essential AM tool to establish the centralized application portfolio repository for the purpose of governance process and EA (Enterprise Architect) analysis.

I have few following questions:
1. Looking at the tools features. It appears to me that I can use this tool for APM (Application Portfolio Management). Is this tool appropriate for the use of APM?

2. What type of application layer instances or elements do I need to create if this tool is right choice for APM?

3. Do you have any sample examples on Application Layer, Business Layer, Information Layer, and Tech Layer?

Thanks
Ramesh Gantyaka
jonathan.carter

Yes, EAM certainly appropriate to support Application Portfolio Management.

The main elements of the Application Layer to support APM are:

Application Service - which define the types of application in terms of the functionality and behaviour that should be provided, e.g. ERP System, CRM System, Order Management System.

Application Provider - which capture the actual systems in your organisation, which should be named according to how each is known in the organisation, e.g. MyOrgERP, OurCRMApp, or names like that. It is best to use the name that the system is given - organisations normally come up with a name for a major system - rather than just the name of the packaged application technology product that is used as the platform or starting point for that system.