Windows 7 Installation

[email protected]

Hi,I am trying to insall the software on a windows 7 laptop and am hitting a couple of problems which may or may not be related to Windows 7.

1) Report Service URL:
http://localhost:8080/essential_viewer/reportService.

Can you advise what should be used for a local (i.e. laptop) installation as it present the error: Failed to send snapshot to the Report Service :
Essential Viewer ReportService could not be found at this URL.

2) When installing essentialinstall.jar it fails to modify or load files into any directories etc within "program files". I am an administrator on the system and if I install the programs i.e. Apache etc into another location it does work without error.

Thanks
Juan E

Martin,

I had a similar problems which may be the same. For question 1, you may have tried this but I hadn't extracted the war file which I had to do from the Tomcat admin pages.

For question 2, even though I have administrator rights, I had to right click and explicitly use 'run as administrator' to get it to install under Program Files. That worked for me.

Hopefully that helps.
[email protected]

Just an update.

I eventually got it working with Protege 3.4.4 and Tomcat 6.0.29.
jonathan.carter

Thanks for the update, Martin. Great to hear.

I'm going to look at the installer to see what we can do to ensure that it runs in privileged mode on Windows 7.

Sounds like your issue with the Essential Viewer may have been that your Tomcat was not set to deploy the WAR automatically. I will update the install guides to cover this and include JuanE's recommendation.

Jonathan
Essential Project Team
jonathan.carter

Just a quick post to let you know that I've successfully tested an updated installer on a Windows 7 platform. I'd like to do some further tests (in particular on Windows 7 systems that have experienced this problem) to make sure that this works before I release the updated version, though.